The Bear Facts eNews: Read More

Bear Creek Congratulates Three National Merit Finalists

Congratulations to Bear Creek seniors Katie Petrin, Nick Van Baak, and Gabriel Wang who were selected as Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. These students were named Semifinalists last fall and have advanced to the Finalist level.

About the National Merit Scholarship Program
To become a Finalist, a Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the high school principal, and earn sat scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. The Semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, which includes the student’s essay and information about the Semifinalist’s participation and leadership in school and community activities.

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2012. Every Finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be provided by approximately 240 corporations and business organizations for Finalists who meet their specified criteria, such as children of the grantor’s employees or residents of communities where sponsor plants or offices are located. In addition, about 200 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,800 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for Finalists who will attend the sponsor institution. National Merit Scholarship winners of 2012 will be announced in the spring and summer.

Congratulations are also in order for the National Merit Commended Scholars in Bear Creek's class of 2012: Shannon Abbott, Dillon Baker, Garrett Benson, Aaron DiGenova, Lucas Fernandez, Madelyn Magee, Monique Meissner, Bethan Meyer, Ellie Probus, and Joy Twentyman.