Girls Tennis

This page provides information about Bear Creek's girls varsity and JV tennis program.

Girls Tennis Calendar

Registration Deadline: Deadline: February 17, 2023
Practices Begin: February 27, 2023
Season Ends: May

The events on this calendar update hourly. Use these how-to instructions to filter calendars, subscribe to calendars, or receive calendar event alerts.

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Sat/Sun
Mon, Apr 25
Tue, Apr 26
Wed, Apr 27
Thu, Apr 28
Fri, Apr 29
Sat, Apr 30
Sun, May 1
Mon, May 2
Tue, May 3
Wed, May 4
Girls Varsity Tennis vs University Prep
-
6046 West Lake Sammamish Parkway Northeast, Redmond WA 98052
Thu, May 5
Fri, May 6
Girls JV Tennis vs The Bush School
-
2000 Martin Luther King Jr Way S, Seattle WA 98144
Girls Varsity Tennis vs The Bush School
-
2000 Martin Luther King Jr Way S, Seattle WA 98144
Sat, May 7
Sun, May 8
Mon, May 9
Girls Varsity Tennis @ King's High School
-
998 Northwest Innis Arden Way, Shoreline WA 98177
Girls JV Tennis @ King's High School
-
998 Northwest Innis Arden Way, Shoreline WA 98177
Tue, May 10
Wed, May 11
Thu, May 12
Fri, May 13
Sat, May 14
Sun, May 15
Mon, May 16
Tue, May 17
Wed, May 18
Thu, May 19
Fri, May 20
Sat, May 21
Sun, May 22
Mon, May 23
Tue, May 24
Wed, May 25
Thu, May 26
Fri, May 27
Sat, May 28
Sun, May 29
Mon, May 30
Tue, May 31
Wed, Jun 1
Thu, Jun 2
Fri, Jun 3
Sat, Jun 4
Sun, Jun 5

Meet the Coach

Jeffrey Morse

Contact Information

School Email
(Primary)
School Phone
425-898-1720 x103

Faculty Information

Department(s)
Lower School
Title(s)
Faculty, Varsity Tennis Head Coach

Other Information

Biography
Jeff spent six years teaching in private Christian education prior to joining the Lower School faculty at Bear Creek in fall 2020. He is very excited to be teaching grade four at The Bear Creek School. He has a beautiful wife and three girls. Jeff is a huge sports fan, and his two favorite teams to watch are the LA Dodgers and Duke University men's basketball. Go Grizzlies! B.A. Elementary Education, Corban University; M.Ed. Information and Technology, Western Governors University.

Girls Tennis Quick Facts

Fees

Registration Fee: $350 + $110 for warm-up jacket, uniform top, uniform hat, and team T-shirt

Additional Costs: Include uniform, gear, and equipment (see below)

Anticipated Levels of Play

The girls tennis program generally offers both JV and varsity teams, though this is entirely dependent on the number of participants at the start of the season. We will communicate our plan to run a JV program just prior to the start of the season.

Practice and Game Schedule

The girls tennis team practices every day from 4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. The team generally schedules 12 – 16 regular season matches, which are played after school. There are some exceptions to this from time to time with some games taking place on a Saturday, or possibly at an away venue in the evening. Home games usually start at 4:30 p.m. and are played at Marymoor Park (our home courts). Away games usually involved early dismissals from class as we travel to games. See Girls Tennis Calendar (above).

Transportation

Transportation is not provided for practices or home games at Marymoor Park. For away games, transportation will be provided by the school, and the expectation is that students will travel together to all away games on the bus/van. Students are not allowed to drive their own vehicles or arrange their own transportation to away games.

Uniform, Gear, and Equipment

Required equipment includes tennis racquet(s), black skirt, and proper court shoes. Feel free to contact the coach if you have questions about the type of racket, shoes, or skirt required. Players should also bring sunblock, hats/visors, and plenty of water to practices and matches throughout the season. The spring season can be cold and wet. Players may order the optional rain gear, but please plan accordingly and bring some warmer practice gear each day. 

The official tennis team uniform includes a green and/or black Bear Creek tank, jacket, and hat (included in player registration fee). Optional gear includes rain gear and black warm-up pants. Players may reuse the same uniform pieces in subsequent years. Complete the gear size and optional gear order forms (see top of page) to ensure the correct sizes are available.

Out of Season Activities

The girls tennis team does not currently participate in official out of season activities. From time to time (e.g., in the summer), the girls will organize optional captain-led practices that are generally run and promoted on their own. Bear Creek promotes and encourages girls to sign up and play tennis out of season through the various camps and tennis programs in the region.

Girls Tennis Resources