Cross Country

This page provides information about Bear Creek's boys and girls varsity cross country program.

Cross Country Calendar

Registration Deadline: August 4, 2022
Practices Begin: August 22, 2022
Season Ends: October/November

The events on this calendar update hourly. Use these how-to instructions to filter calendars, subscribe to calendars, or receive calendar event alerts.

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Sat/Sun
Mon, Apr 25
Tue, Apr 26
Wed, Apr 27
Thu, Apr 28
Fri, Apr 29
Sat, Apr 30
Sun, May 1
Mon, May 2
Tue, May 3
Wed, May 4
Thu, May 5
Fri, May 6
Sat, May 7
Sun, May 8
Mon, May 9
Tue, May 10
Wed, May 11
Thu, May 12
Fri, May 13
Sat, May 14
Sun, May 15
Mon, May 16
Tue, May 17
Wed, May 18
Thu, May 19
Fri, May 20
Sat, May 21
Sun, May 22
Mon, May 23
Tue, May 24
Wed, May 25
Thu, May 26
Fri, May 27
Sat, May 28
Sun, May 29
Mon, May 30
Tue, May 31
Wed, Jun 1
Thu, Jun 2
Fri, Jun 3
Sat, Jun 4
Sun, Jun 5

Meet the Coach

Aaron Nunez

Contact Information

School Email
(Primary)

Faculty Information

Department(s)
Middle School
Title(s)
Faculty, Varsity Cross Country Head Coach, Varsity Track & Field Head Coach

Other Information

Biography
Dr. Aaron Nunez joined Bear Creek's faculty in fall 2021 and the coaching staff during the 2020-2021 school year. He teaches Middle School mathematics at Bear Creek. Dr. Nunez started running in high school where he was inspired by a coach who modeled a love of running and an intentional focus to build dynamic teams. As a result, he is a lifelong runner, having completed marathons and road races as well as triathlons in Arizona, California, and Hawaii. In 2020, Aaron returned to the U.S. after serving as a missionary in Honduras and New Zealand. Before that, Aaron spent 13 years in higher education as a professor and college dean. B.S. Biblical Studies, Arizona Christian University; Post-Bachelor Certificate Secondary Education Mathematics, Rio Salado College; M.S. Psychology, University of Phoenix; Ph.D.. Higher Education Administration, University of Phoenix

Cross Country Quick Facts

Fees

Registration Fee: $350 + $130 for a warm-up hoodie and pants (green/black), uniform shorts (black), and a team T-shirt
Additional Costs: See gear, equipment, and team-related activities (see below).

Practice and Meet Schedule

The cross country team maintains a six day per week schedule throughout the season commencing on the first day of practice in August and concluding at the State Championship meet on the first Saturday in November. Practices start at 3:45 p.m. if at Bear Creek or 4:00 p.m. if off-campus. The practice schedule is communicated to families via email in advance, with practice locations including, but not limited to: Redmond Watershed, Marymoor Park, Evergreen Middle School, and various schools around the area. There are five mid-week league meets plus League Championships requiring early dismissals. Invitational meets are held on Saturdays. See Cross Country Calendar (above).

Transportation

Transportation to all practices is scheduled and arranged by each family. Bear Creek does not organize or schedule rides for student-athletes to cross country practice. Bear Creek will provide transportation to all meets, both to the meet and back to Bear Creek. Students are not allowed to drive their own vehicles or arrange their own transportation.

Uniforms, Gear, and Equipment

The school provides uniform jerseys which must be returned at the end of the season. Uniform shorts (back) and warm-up hoodie and pants are included in registration fee. Other required equipment includes running shoes/cleats and appropriate running clothes. We will have a gear night at Super Jock and Jill in Redmond at the start of the season for players who want help choosing shoes or gear. Additionally, there are several optional team gear items that players may purchase including a long sleeve shirt and rain gear. All optional gear may be purchased by filling out an order form prior to the beginning of the season.

Other Activities

The team plans dinners and other team events. Any costs associated with these activities would come at the expense of each family. After the Twilight Invitational, the team traditionally goes out to dinner together with their families; everyone pays an equal amount upfront to cover that cost. There might also be a dinner following League Championships which also serves as the team end-of-the-year party. At State, food and optional gear purchases will be at the expense of each family.

Anticipated Levels of Play

Everyone on the cross country team has the opportunity to compete in every league meet; invitational meet participation will be determined by the coaching staff based on best fit for the team.

Out of Season Activities

All team members are encouraged to run and have fun together with team-building activities throughout the summer.

Cross Country Resources