Cheer

This page provides information about Bear Creek's cheer program.

Cheer Calendar

Registration Deadline: September 22, 2022
Practices Begin: October 3, 2022
Season Ends: February/March

The events on this calendar update hourly. Use these how-to instructions to filter calendars, subscribe to calendars, or receive calendar event alerts.

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Sat/Sun
Mon, Sep 26
Tue, Sep 27
Wed, Sep 28
Thu, Sep 29
Fri, Sep 30
Sat, Oct 1
Sun, Oct 2
Mon, Oct 3
Tue, Oct 4
Wed, Oct 5
Thu, Oct 6
Fri, Oct 7
Sat, Oct 8
Sun, Oct 9
Mon, Oct 10
Tue, Oct 11
Wed, Oct 12
Thu, Oct 13
Fri, Oct 14
Sat, Oct 15
Sun, Oct 16
Mon, Oct 17
Tue, Oct 18
Wed, Oct 19
Thu, Oct 20
Fri, Oct 21
Sat, Oct 22
Sun, Oct 23
Mon, Oct 24
Tue, Oct 25
Wed, Oct 26
Thu, Oct 27
Fri, Oct 28
Sat, Oct 29
Sun, Oct 30
Mon, Oct 31
Tue, Nov 1
Wed, Nov 2
Thu, Nov 3
Fri, Nov 4
Sat, Nov 5
Sun, Nov 6

Meet the Coach

Melinda Wilder

Melinda Wilder

Faculty
Melinda Wilder's 28-year teaching career began in the Northwest and has spanned international schools in seven countries. Mrs. Wilder joined Bear Creek's Upper School faculty in 2021. When not endeavoring to build statistical literacy or quantitative reasoning in her students, she will be out enjoying the glory of God's creation, which has a multiplied magnificence in these parts! B.S. Mathematics, Southwest Baptist University; M.A. Mathematics Education, University of British Columbia

Cheer Quick Facts

Fees

Registration Fee: $350 + plus new cheerleaders must purchase a uniform includeing skirt, monogrammed shell, monogrammed warm-up jacket, monogrammed polar fleece jacket, pants, shorts, shoes, ribbon, and pom poms.
Additional Costs: Include equipment (see below) and any team-related trips and activities (see below).

Anticipated Levels of Play

The varsity cheer squad may consist of a varying number of members each season depending on the turnout. It is not uncommon to have a second squad (JV) if the turnout is high.

Practice and Game Schedule

The cheer squad practices between 3 – 5 days per week during the season from 4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. in the Wesley Choir Room. The squad generally cheers at the 8 – 10 home basketball games in addition to select events and away games throughout the season. Home varsity games usually start at 5:45 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., but there are exceptions.

Transportation

Round-trip transportation will be provided to all away games at which the squad cheers. Students are not allowed to drive their own vehicles or arrange their own transportation to away games.

Uniform, Gear, and Equipment

Each spring, cheerleaders sign up for the following season, and new cheerleaders get fitted for their uniforms. The cheer uniform is a custom, personalized uniform that costs about $600.00. Usually, this uniform is only purchased one time during a cheerleader’s high school career. There are exceptions to this including shoes, worn out poms, or uniforms pieces that no longer fit. Additionally, each summer the members are expected to purchase a gear pack for camp (T-shirts/shorts) that usually runs about $50.

Cheer Camp and Overnight Activities

Each summer, the cheer team attends a multi-day cheer camp. Some years, this camp is held at the school, and there is no overnight requirement. The squad simply comes to the school each day to work with their camp instructor. Other years, the cheer camp is held off-site and the members register and attend the overnight camp as a team. The cost for camp can range from $150 – $400 depending on which camp is selected, how long it lasts, and the travel distance. Each year we will communicate well in advance which camp the cheer squad will participate in and what the costs will be.

Scope of Activity

Although cheer is a winter sport, the commitment begins the previous spring following the mandatory interest meeting. New cheerleaders are fitted for their uniforms. The squad signs up for cheer camp and begins to learn routines. Cheerleaders usually attend key fall events (Fall Tailgate, Dig Pink) and begin formal practices in October. The cheer season concludes at the end of the basketball season which can vary from early February through early March depending on how far the teams get in the playoffs.