Boys Soccer

This page provides information about Bear Creek's boys varsity and JV soccer program.

Boys Soccer Calendar

Interest Meeting: January 24, 2023
Registration Deadline: February 9, 2023
Practices Begin: February 27, 2023
Season Ends: May

The events on this calendar update hourly. Use these how-to instructions to filter calendars, subscribe to calendars, or receive calendar event alerts.

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Sat/Sun
Mon, Sep 26
Tue, Sep 27
Wed, Sep 28
Thu, Sep 29
Fri, Sep 30
Sat, Oct 1
Sun, Oct 2
Mon, Oct 3
Tue, Oct 4
Wed, Oct 5
Thu, Oct 6
Fri, Oct 7
Sat, Oct 8
Sun, Oct 9
Mon, Oct 10
Tue, Oct 11
Wed, Oct 12
Thu, Oct 13
Fri, Oct 14
Sat, Oct 15
Sun, Oct 16
Mon, Oct 17
Tue, Oct 18
Wed, Oct 19
Thu, Oct 20
Fri, Oct 21
Sat, Oct 22
Sun, Oct 23
Mon, Oct 24
Tue, Oct 25
Wed, Oct 26
Thu, Oct 27
Fri, Oct 28
Sat, Oct 29
Sun, Oct 30
Mon, Oct 31
Tue, Nov 1
Wed, Nov 2
Thu, Nov 3
Fri, Nov 4
Sat, Nov 5
Sun, Nov 6

Meet the Coach

John Thornton

Varsity Boys Soccer Head Coach
John Thornton has been coaching soccer at both the club select and high school levels since 2005. He began coaching the Grizzlies in 2020. B.S. Education, Grand Canyon University; M.S. Educational Leadership, St. Thomas University; D.Min., Genesis University

Boys Soccer Quick Facts

Fees

Registration Fee: $350 + $80 for a warm-up hoodie, two pair uniform socks, and team T-shirt

Additional Costs: Include gear, equipment, and any team-related trips and activities (see below)

Anticipated Levels of Play

The boys soccer program only offers a varsity team.

Practice and Game Schedule

The boys soccer team practices every day from 3:40 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. It is common to have practices and/or games scheduled on 3 or 4 Saturdays during the season as well. The team generally schedules 16 regular season games which are played after school. There are some exceptions to this from time to time with some games taking place on a Saturday or possibly at an away venue in the evening. Home games usually start at 4:00 p.m. and are played on Owens Field (our home field at Bear Creek). Away games usually involve early dismissals from class as we travel to games. See Boys Soccer Calendar (above).

Transportation

Transportation is not needed for practices as we stay at the school for training. For away games, transportation will be provided by the school and the expectation is that students will travel together to all away games on the bus/van. Students are not allowed to drive their own vehicles or arrange their own transportation to away games.

Uniform, Gear, and Equipment

The school provides uniform jerseys and shorts which must be returned at the end of the season. Players must purchase their own shin guards and soccer cleats. The team plays games on both grass fields and field turf. Traditional cleats can be used on both. Specific turf shoes and/or screw in cleats are not recommended. Team warm-up hoodie and T-shirt are included with the registration fee.

The spring season can be cold and wet. Players may order the optional rain gear, but please plan accordingly and bring some warmer practice gear each day. Optional gear includes rain gear and black warm-up pants. Complete the gear size and optional gear order forms (see top of page) to ensure the correct sizes are available.

Out of Season Activities

The boys soccer team does not currently participate in official out of season activities. From time to time (e.g. in the summer), the boys organize optional “open field” practices that are generally run and promoted on their own. Bear Creek promotes and encourages boys to sign up and play soccer out of season through the various select-level club programs in the region.

Boys Soccer Resources