Boys Golf

This page provides information about Bear Creek's boys varsity and JV golf program.

Boys Golf Calendar

Registration Deadline: August 4, 2022
Practices Begin: August 22, 2022
Season Ends: October/November

The events on this calendar update hourly. Use these how-to instructions to filter calendars, subscribe to calendars, or receive calendar event alerts.

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Sat/Sun
Mon, Apr 25
Tue, Apr 26
Wed, Apr 27
Thu, Apr 28
Fri, Apr 29
Sat, Apr 30
Sun, May 1
Mon, May 2
Tue, May 3
Wed, May 4
Thu, May 5
Fri, May 6
Sat, May 7
Sun, May 8
Mon, May 9
Tue, May 10
Wed, May 11
Thu, May 12
Fri, May 13
Sat, May 14
Sun, May 15
Mon, May 16
Tue, May 17
Wed, May 18
Thu, May 19
Fri, May 20
Sat, May 21
Sun, May 22
Mon, May 23
Tue, May 24
Wed, May 25
Thu, May 26
Fri, May 27
Sat, May 28
Sun, May 29
Mon, May 30
Tue, May 31
Wed, Jun 1
Thu, Jun 2
Fri, Jun 3
Sat, Jun 4
Sun, Jun 5

Meet the Coach

Mike Faris

Contact Information

School Email
(Primary)
School Phone
425-898-1720 x809

Faculty Information

Department(s)
Upper School
Title(s)
Faculty, Varsity Golf Head Coach

Other Information

Biography
Mike loves working at a place where he feels so passionately about his subject and his students. It is a daily privilege of engaging with students about what it means to know Jesus. He enjoys working with the high school age group because they are starting to ask the big questions of life. Many of them are beginning to take responsibility for their faith. Many of them are struggling to overcome challenges to their faith. He's honored to help them in their journey. Mike’s goals for his students who complete his classes are that they would have a higher reverence for God’s word and most importantly a closer relationship with Jesus. B.A. Biblical Studies, The Master's College

Boys Golf Quick Facts

Fees

Registration Fee: $350 + $80 for a uniform polo, uniform hat*, and a team T-shirt. Varsity players must purchase ($185) or rent ($55) a Bear Creek golf bag (fee collected outside of the registration process).

Additional Costs: Include gear, equipment, any team-related trips and activities (see below)

* Some items are distributed every other year, but the costs are amortized over two years.

Anticipated Levels of Play

The boys golf program offers a varsity team and will field a JV team if numbers of participants warrant.

Schedule

The boys golf team schedules practices and matches Mondays – Thursdays. Practices are held from 3:45 p.m. – 5:15 p.m. at multiple locations in the area, primarily, Redmond Ridge Golf Course, Willows Run Golf Course, and Twin Rivers Golf Course. The team generally schedules 7 – 8 regular season matches, which are played after school. Home matches usually start at 4:00 p.m. and are played at Redmond Ridge Golf Course. Away games usually involve early dismissals from class as we travel. See Boys Golf Calendar (above).

Transportation

Transportation is not provided for practices. For matches, round trip transportation is available, though players may make their own arrangements.

Uniform, Gear, and Equipment

Required equipment includes a set of clubs, balls, and tees. For all practices and matches, players must wear golf attire, which is a collared shirt and shorts or pants (not jeans). During matches, players wear uniform polos which are ordered at the beginning of the season (included in registration fee). Recommended but not required gear includes a hat, towel, golf shoes, ball mark repair tool, and golf umbrella. Additionally, there are several optional items that players may find helpful including a rangefinder, hand warmers, pushcart, rain jacket, rain gloves, rain shoes, and rain pants. Finally, all match-ready varsity players must rent or purchase a Bear Creek golf bag (see above). Junior varsity players may use their own golf bags.

How Matches Are Played

In the Emerald Sound Conference, six players are involved in a varsity match of nine holes, and the best four scores are counted against the other school to determine the winning team. The team may bring 6 – 8 match-ready players to away matches. Additional players beyond six are counted as junior varsity at that match. More players may often play in home matches. Players not involved in a match will not have practice on match days.

Playoffs

To advance to the Conference Tournament in October, players must shoot two qualifying scores during regular season league matches. A qualifying score is 13 over par or less. At Redmond Ridge, that would be shooting 48 or less. Qualifying scores count regardless of whether the player is playing as varsity or junior varsity. The WIAA allows individual leagues to determine whether the boys golf season is played in the fall or spring, and the Emerald Sound Conference plays in the fall up through the Conference Tournament in October. To allow for leagues who play in the spring, the District and State tournaments are held in May. For players who are advancing, the team resumes practices three weeks before the District Tournament.

Out of Season Activities

Although the boys golf team does not currently participate in official out of season activities, Bear Creek promotes and encourages players to continue to play, take lessons, and participate in tournaments out of season through the various programs in the region. All golfers should join the Youth on Course membership program allowing juniors aged 6 – 18 to pay $5 per round at participating courses after a yearly membership fee of $20.

Boys Golf Resources